The first meeting between South Korean men’s short track standouts Hwang Dae-heon (Gangwon Province) and China’s Lin Xiaojun (Korean name Lim Hyo-joon) has been canceled.

The Korea Ice Sports Federation held a national media day on Wednesday at the Mokdong Ice Rink Press Center in Yangcheon-gu, Seoul, ahead of the fourth edition of the 2023-2024 International Ice Skating Union (ISU) Short Track World Cup.

“It was announced that Lin Xiaojun will not be participating in the fourth edition due to injury,” said Ahn Jung-hyun, head coach of the national short track team.

The tournament will be held at the Mokdong Ice Rink in Yangcheon-gu, Seoul, for three days from March 15.

Initially, it was expected that Hwang Dae-heon and Lin Xiao-jun of China would meet for the first time in Korea.

However, their first domestic matchup was canceled due to Lin Xiaozhun’s absence.

Lin Xiaozhun had hoped to compete in a domestic event nine months after the 2023 ISU Short Track World Championships at the same venue in March, but she has been unable to do so due to injury.

Hwang Dae-heon and Lin Xiao-jun were once an integral part of the national team.

However, their relationship fell apart after a scandalous incident during a training session in 2019, and Lin Xiaozhun was suspended for one year by the Korean Ice Sports Federation and repatriated to China.

Hwang and Lin Xiaojun met for the first time in four years in the men’s 1,500-meter final at the first ISU World Cup event of the 2023-2024 season in Montreal, Canada, in October.

It was Lin’s first time competing for China.

Hwang Daeheon, who finished first with a time of 2:23.66, edged out Lin Xiaozhun, who finished third.

Currently, the list of competitors on the ISU World Cup 4th edition website is dated as of the 6th of this month, and it includes Lin Xiaozhun’s name.

However, according to an official from the ISU, when the Chinese short track team arrived in South Korea the previous day, Lin Xiaojun was not with them.

The final roster is expected to be finalized later in the afternoon on the 14th after the national coaches’ meeting.

It will be six years since South Korea hosted the Short Track World Cup in November 2017.

The Korean men’s team will be led by Hwang Dae-heon, along with Park Ji-won (Seoul Metropolitan Government), Kim Gun-woo (Sportoto), Jang Jang-woo (Korea University), Lee Jung-min (Korea Gymnastics University) and Seo Ira (Hwaseong City Hall).

The women’s team will include Kim Gil-ri (Seongnam City Hall), Lee So-yeon (Sporting Korea), Park Ji-won (Jeonbuk Provincial Office), Park Ji-yoon (Uijeongbu City Hall), Seo Hui-min (Korea University) and Shim Seok-hee (Seoul City Hall).

Korea will compete in the men’s and women’s 500 meters, 1,000 meters, 1,500 meters, men’s 5,000 meters relay, women’s 3,000 meters relay, and mixed 2,000 meters relay, hoping to strike gold at home. 토토

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *